Erudite Stoner – Self-Titled

For the first time in a while, I was completely unprepared for what a band had to offer in their music. From the name Erudite Stoner one might imagine that the music is stoner rock or maybe sludge metal, from the album cover you might expect it to be a punk rock band. Neither is correct though. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was neofolk music.

It’s a beautiful story, told through nothing but a guitar. It’s a bildungsroman of sorts, a journey from the chaos of urban life to the quiet, introspective life of nature. It’s a de-evolution from civilized to wild, yet at the same time the music is a progression from order to chaos. On paper it’s a hard thing to explain, but in music the dichotomy works perfectly.

The is soft and melodic, it’s a sound that’s easy on the ears but has a lot to say. There was a tension too, in the music, as I listened I felt like the music would explode at any moment. I don’t think it was really meant to be relaxing music but despite the tension, I felt at ease listening to it. I won’t go so far as to say it was beautiful because that’s far too simplistic. The music was complex, melodies were woven together, fashioned out of distortions. The music has an Opeth type quality to it, a flowing melody that unfolds in its complexity as the time goes on.

I find myself at a loss for words, music is not usually able to do that to me. Erudite Stoner was an amazing experience, a tour de force if you will, of progressive neofolk guitar work. It was a wonderful blend of classical guitar and acoustic soundscapes. I highly recommend it, despite the fact that the music seems to have stolen my words.

EruditeStoner

8.5/10

Watch here

Listen and support!

Listen here: SoundCloudBandCamp

 

Leave a Reply

