I – Delvok

Ever heard something and immediately a hundred different interpretations of it come into your head? When you can follow a logical progression in the music and yet there are a hundred others you can see it at the same time? That’s exactly how I felt when I listened to “I” by Delvok recently. Done by the same artist that brought you Yetzer Hara, one of my personal favorites, Delvok is a natural progression from one project to another. Delvok, I think, represents another step in becoming a master.

Delvok, as much as I was able to research, is a Vulcan poet mentioned in passing in Star Trek, so briefly that even I, an avowed Trekkie, didn’t realize it until I researched it. Give that Yetzer Hara’s album had a Star Trek title it would not surprise me at all that that’s what he meant but I’ve been wrong before (just once mind you). Whatever the meaning of the name, seriously I look too much into that sort of thing on a pretty consistent basis, the music’s message is paramount. So what exactly is the message, or narrative, here? Well that’s where things get fun. As I said before, I could come up with several narrative lines within the space of a single run through of the album. The music is so highly applicable it’s crazy. One way that I could interpret the album is to run with the Star Trek reference and view the entire album through that lens. The album takes on a very epic, starry narrative. The people of Earth fighting against an invading alien. At the same time, if you don’t look at the (possibly) Star Trek name, the album has a Renaissance feel to it, a sort of Cathedral-esque, monolithic yet spiritual feel. There is at least a dozen more ways I could describe the narrative of the album but I think I should leave it up to the listener-protagonist to decide what they want it to be. That’s the beauty of this album, it can take place on a dungeon crawl, a chapel organ, or in the empty void of space.

The music is pretty raw and simplistic, much like the early Burzum ambient albums, but there is less atmosphere and a little more production. The music isn’t as repetitive as Burzum either, within each song is a discernable classical music structure. The sound is more a little more synthetic than I’d like, I know that’s odd to say of a dungeon “synth” album, relying less on atmosphere than I might have. The sound is still good, don’t get me wrong though. I love the minimalistic and lo fi feel, the album’s sounds have a rawness to them even with no atmosphere.

When I say I’ve listened to an album at least a dozen times, I mean it. I’ve listened to Delvok at least a dozen times today. It’s a great album that keeps the listener engaged in the music. There are some wonderful hooks and melodies that soar and crawl. Give Delvok a chance and tell me what you thought of it. What did you see in the album?

DelvokI.jpg

Listen and support!

Delvok’s Facebook Page
Delvok’s Bandcamp Page

2 thoughts on “I – Delvok

  1. Glad to see you giving this album some attention. By far that opening pair of tracks is such a committed and impressive mood – it would be very easy to imagine a composer getting impatient with the minimalism, but Delvok keeps a really impressive focus across that first 15 minutes. I think the rest of the EP is wise to keep the tracks short, as that helps to show off the range of the project without asking too much of the listener. Quality stuff indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

